RSS Feed

Dinner pancakes

Posted on


Pancakes is something I was introduced to very late in life. Very very late actually. Mum never made it, and I never had it at a friends house. The first time actually, was when my mum was making waffles, but after making the mix, she found out that the waffle iron was at someone else’s house. So she ended up just throwing them in the pan like the picture above and make pancakes / crepes. It wasn’t until years later that I found out that that’s something people actually do for dinner when I asked someone where their waffle iron was. :)

I got this recipe from Heia Mat (norwegian site) and he shares the 5-4-3 technique as he calls it.

5 dl milk (I use unsweetened soy milk.)
4 eggs
3 dl flour
and 1 teaspoon of salt.

Throw them all in together, but get the milk and eggs in the flour in 2 rounds. Let it sit for 30 minutes before frying them in butter.

Serve with marmalade, jam, bacon or anything you want.

Enjoy!

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

4 responses »

  1. We usually have it as breakfast. My mun seldom makes that, but my aunt makes lots of that in weekends mornings. I have a recipe that tastes so nice, it’s called Johnston Finnish pancakes:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes/desserts-a-goodies-/johnston-finnish-pancakes
    Check it out. Hope you like it.

    Reply
    • I always thought they were for breakfast too until I learned otherwise. I think it’s an all around dish really.

      I would have loved to try that recipe, but we don’t have buttermilk in Norway. Plus I’m lactoseintolerant, so it would have to be a soy version. Hey, maybe there is! I’m gonna go on a google hunt for that now. :)

      Reply
  2. American pancackes have sugar in them and we usually pour maple syrup on top.
    However, to make them more healthy I usually use whole wheat and honey instead of the sugar.
    I especially love to mix different ingredients in the batter… My favorite is chopped banana and walnuts or pecans (or any nut or fruit for that matter) Absolutely delicious!
    A first for me recently (what can I say? I LOVE pancackes) is mixing pumpkin puree in the batter. So good!

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

