RSS Feed

Sophie Dahl: My dad’s chicken curry

Posted on


While flipping through the book for the first time, I stopped on this page. Her dad’s chicken curry recipe. I’ve never been able to make indian food and have always wanted to, and it looked fairly easy so I went for it.


I found that someone else had written the recipe word for word on another blog, so I just ripped it off to make it easier on myself.

Here is what you need:

1 large onion
2 serrano chiles, deseeded (or less if you like it less hot)
2 cloves of garlic, peeled
2 tablespoons of olive oil
2 teaspoons of curry powder
4 skinless and boneless chicken breasts
salt and pepper
14 ounce can of light unsweetened coconut milk
1 bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped

Here is how she explains the steps:

Finely chop the onion, chiles and garlic, add the grated ginger and sweat in the oil for a few minutes.  Add the curry powder and stir for a few minutes.  Chop the chicken breasts up into bite-sized pieces and add to the mixture.

Cook for another few minutes and season to taste.

Pour the coconut milk over the chicken and simmer on a low heat until the chicken is properly cooked, almost 20 minutes.  Scatter the chopped cilantro on top.
Serve with cauliflower that has been boiled with mint leaves, and some basmati rice.

This was very easy to make, which is a plus. On the other hand I thought the there way was too much ginger and not enough curry. So next time I try it, I’m going to use just one spoon ginger and curry to taste. I would have liked this recipe to be a bit more creamy, so that’s going to be something to experiment with next time as well.  This recipe is meant to serve 4, but it’s enough for 2, or maybe 3 if they’re not so hungry.

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

One response »

  1. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

