RSS Feed

Passion 4 Baking: Chocolate Chubbies

Posted on


I really felt like baking something sweet this weekend, so when Passion 4 Baking decided to show me these chocolate chubbies; I couldn’t help myself.

I don’t know if I can even say this is her recipe as I’ve changed it tons! I’m going to give the recipe, but I don’t have pictures to show what I’ve done as she has quite a few on her blog, so just look at hers. :)

Here is the recipe:

113 g butter
250 g dark chocolate (she used 70% high quality chocolate, I used baking chocolate)
62 g flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 room temperature large eggs
280 g sugar
2 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used vanilla 1 large teaspoon powder/sugar)
340 g chocolate buttons (I just cut up some of the chocolate I had left)
250 g walnuts/pecans (she uses just walnuts and I used just pecans)

Melt the chocolate and butter together and leave to cool down. Mix eggs and sugar together until creamy (this didn’t happen for me as my mixer is too big and didn’t get to mix it too well). When creamy, add the chocolate mix and see to that it gets mixed inn properly. Now start slowly adding your flour mix, which should be all the dry stuff. When that’s all in, add the chocolate buttons and the nuts.

Have your oven preheated to 160 C and throw them in there for 20 minutes.

Here were my issues with this recipe. The first batch I made turned out really chewy, but the bottom wasn’t done. And this was because I had managed to put the oven on 140 C and not 160 C. Plus, I had made them too small. So on the next tray (picture above), I made them a bit bigger and fixed the heat. These then lost their chewyness and are more like hard biscuits.

So on the next tray (enough for three with 10 on each), I made them even bigger to see if I could get the chewyness on the inside, but no. Still biscuits. I have a feeling it has something to do with not getting the sugar and eggs to become creamy. So they didn’t turn out like hers, obviously, but they are still pretty good. I’m glad I didn’t go for the expensive high quality chocolate on this one as it sort of failed, but I might next time!

Go for the recipe, I’m sure you’ll love it either way. :-)


Enjoy!

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

