RSS Feed

Homemade mashed potato

Posted on


My second lazy dinner last weekend. This was made in a jiffy yesterday around 8pm when I saw I had forgotten to eat.. again.

I looked through all the cabinets and found basically nothing. Mashed potatoes is really easy and super nice. This is one of those dishes that I didn’t grow up with and “discovered” a couple of years back. I first bought ready made ones and thought they tasted awesome, until I got some homemade. The bag-ones tasted awful after that.

Grab a few potatoes – depends on how many you are. 2-3 potatoes per person is good. Chop’em up and boil them up. Remember, root vegetables are put in cold water and boiled up. Keep in until really tender and remove water.

Throw a chunk of butter, salt and pepper to taste, throw some milk in there so it’s not dry and start mashing. ¬†Use little milk in the beginning so it doesn’t end up too wet. Keep adding as you go, and remember to taste if it needs more seasoning.

I added chopped up fried onions and turkey pepperoni to mine. :-) Make your own and stop buying the salty crappy add-milk-to-powder-in-a-bag ones. It’s just as fast! Promise!

Enjoy!

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

2 responses »

  1. Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all. ~Harriet van Horne

    Wow! What a visual

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Homemade mashed potato (via The awesome things I do.) | My Grandparent's Kitchen

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

