RSS Feed

Basmati Rice

Posted on


Rice!

Kurds cannot survive without rice, and we have tons of ways of making it. This is the absolute easiest way and it always turns out great great great.

One glass of rice is enough for two people. Wash until water is clear <- important!


Throw in a casserole with too much water which you have salted to taste and let boil up, and let boil until you see the rice starts “growing” like the image above. Taste to see if it’s soft enough. It should take about 10 minutes but start checking at about 7 minutes. If they become too soft, then you’re screwed.


When soft enough, turn the heat down to almost minimum, and start heating up around 1 dl of oil in another pan. Time to remove the water from the rice. Shake well until all is gone and throw back in the casserole.

When the oil is warm enough (it should be really really warm), you toss it over the rice.

Mix so the oil hits all the rice and lid it with a towel under so it soaks up the steam. Let stay on the low heat with lid over for about 10 minutes and you’ve got perfect rice.

Enjoy! :-)

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

13 responses »

  1. basmati is one aromatic rice and I love making pilafs / biryanis with it.
    nice blog
    cheers

    Reply
  2. If God had intended us to follow recipes,
    He wouldn’t have given us grandmothers.
    ~Linda Henley

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Fried rice | The awesome things I do.

  4. Pingback: Piazaw – onion soup | The awesome things I do.

  5. Pingback: Brinji sor – red rice | The awesome things I do.

  6. Pingback: Kurdish feast! .. or just a normal dinner. | The awesome things I do.

  7. Pingback: Kurdish feast! .. or just a normal dinner. | The awesome things I do.

  8. I’m not very good, professionally prepared rice. But now I’m trying to do it, so hopefully I can handle it.

    Reply
  9. Did you use olive oil… or what kind of oil did you use? as they all taste very differently…

    Reply
      • Thank you! I tried it, but my rice turns out a bit mushy every time, i have even tried to only let it boil for 3-4 minutes but it still turns out too soft and mushy. Could it be something wrong with the rice I’m using or is it possible to get this wrong… ? -_-

  10. How much oil would you use to each cup(250ml) of rice? My boyfriend is Kurdish and I’m trying to learn… the shifta was excellent!

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

