RSS Feed

Oatmeal

Posted on


I was 22 the first time I tried oatmeal. Isn’t that crazy? How can I have gone 22 years without this easy almost self-making meal that dominates Norwegian homes? It’s not THAT crazy seeing as I’m -not- from a Norwegian home, but still.

There are many many ways of making oatmeal, and I have yet to start experimenting, as I’m still getting used to the normal way. (Soy)Milk + salt + oatmeal = yum. Easy.

The best to have this is a dash of butter on top and sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on top, but I have this thing where if something does nothing good for your body, I can’t have it. And that’s the way with butter. I can have butter in food where it disappears and I can’t see it anymore, but I can’t visibly have butter without feeling guilty. I’m crazy, I know.

Thus I googled a bit and saw that bodybuilders and gym-fanatics usually put a spoon of proteins in the porridge and then have fruit on top, so I thought I’d try it and now it’s what I have.

I put strawberry jam on top with bananas. It’s awesome for lunch, especially if you’re going to work out a couple of hours after. Keeps your energy up and it’s not bad for you! We love food that’s not bad for us! Yey!


About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

9 responses »

  1. “Once, during Prohibition, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water.”
    -W.C. Fields

    Reply
  2. Most beautiful oatmeal ever! I eat oatmeal for lunch pretty often, much to my coworkers dismay.

    Reply
  3. If you’re looking for extra protein to fill you up, you should try adding (after cooking) yogurt, almonds or, my personal favorite: cottage cheese!

    Reply
    • Almonds sounds exciting. A little extra crunch! But being lactoseintolerant, there isn’t any yoghurt I can buy here in Norway. They don’t really have too many of them and the few stores that have soy yoghurt are suuuper expensive, so I tend to drive all the way to Sweden to pick some up, which I actually did the other day so I will definitely try it with some cottage cheese :-)

      Reply
  4. Excellent photo, this is the best oatmeal shot I had seen

    Reply
  5. When you said “(Soy)Milk + salt + oatmeal = yum”, I exclaimed yes in consensus lol. Excellent post and excellent shot as well!

    Reply
  6. Yum!!! I’m currently enjoying my steel cut oats with almond butter and a drizzle of honey! :)

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

