RSS Feed

Sophie Dahl: Chicken stew with green olives

Posted on


I’ve had way too much work to do lately to be able to think about proper cooking. Today though, the day was a bit slower. I finished work early and had the day off, so I spent it on family and finding something new to cook. I flipped through Sophie’s supper for spring dishes and found this gorgeous stew.

I just took one in action image this time as I was busy running back and forth to the book checking if I was doing things in right order, which I don’t get as this is such an easy recipe.

I hiiighly recommend this stew and here’s what you need:

3 tbsp. olive oil
1 chicken, cut up into 8 pieces (I used 3 large pieces of chicken)
2 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
1 fennel bulb, roughly chopped
1 cup/2,5 dl white wine
One can, 400g, chopped tomatoes (I used the entire can which was 500g)
1 cup/2,5 dl chicken stock
150g pitted green olives
Handful of fresh basil, chopped (I skipped this one as the chopped tomatoes I used were basil flavored).

This is real real easy. Salt the chicken and fry it on medium heat in the pan/casserole you’re making your stew in. Get it to about 80% cooked. Take out and put to the side. Put in the fennel and garlic and push it around for around 5 minutes and just smell the gorgeousness filling your kitchen.

Add the wine and the tomatoes and let lightly boil for 10 minutes before putting the chicken back in. Now you just leave it alone for 30 minutes except for coming in once on a while to put some of the chicken stock in. By 20 minutes it should all be in. When you have 5 minutes left, you throw in the olives and the basil.

That’s it!


This recipe is meant to serve 4, and I guess it could if they weren’t -that- hungry. It’s more a 3 person dinner.

And if you don’t drink alcohol and is worried about the wine then don’t be. All the alcohol disappears during the cooking so it’s not in the food when you eat it. Plus there is always alcohol-free wine!

So, my views on this recipe: I loved it! Loved loved loved it. I have never had fennel before so that was a compliitely new taste to get used to. When I quickly tasted it during cooking it tasted like I had put a whole lime in it, but later I figured out it’s actually the fennel. I would never have guessed that that is what fennel tastes like. If I would change one thing about this recipe is to add chunky bits of onion and leek to make it a bit more chunky. But seriously.. this recipe was gorgeous and I’m definitely making it again.

Make it and enjoy! :-)

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

5 responses »

  1. This looks so rich and delicious. Never actually cooked with green olives, although they are a mainstay when going out for drinks in spain.

    “Good oil, like good wine, is a gift from the gods. The grape and the olive are among the priceless benefactions of the soil, and were destined, each in its way, to promote the welfare of man.”

    –George Ellwanger

    Reply
    • They don’t really get cooked as much as you just throw them in there towards the end, but they really do enormously for this dish. It was gorgeous!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Sophie Dahl: Chicken stew with green olives (via The awesome things I do.) | My Grandparent's Kitchen

  3. This is a staple in my house now!! We used spicy tomatoes because we like things spicy, added some red pepper flakes too. This is an amazing dish filled with all things I love, and reminds me so much of my Nona. It looks as good as it tastes and smells even better! Thank you for this gem:)

    Reply
  4. I am searching for Sophie’s chicken casserole she made for Aunt Mor Mor. It’s awesome recipe and just sorry page got torn out of book

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

