RSS Feed

Mum’s cooking.

Posted on


I stole some food from my Mum today for the pictures sake. I can’t wait to until the day my food tastes as great as hers. I’ve never made these before, but will definitely try soon!

First up is a dessert called paklawa (usually spelled baklava if you want to google it, but we pronounce it paklawa). Mum never made this for us when we were younger as we weren’t really into sweets, but she made a diabetes friendly (for my Dad) version the other day and it’s awesome! Usually this is soo sweet and the syrup and honey just drips off it, but not this one. It’s perfect.

From Wikipedia:

Baklava (Ottoman Turkish: باقلوا) is a rich, sweet pastry made of layers of filo pastry filled with chopped nuts and sweetened with syrup or honey. It is characteristic of the cuisines of the former Ottoman Empire and much of central and southwest Asia.

Next up on the delish list is kifta. Kifta is well.. kind of hard to explain. It’s a ball of rice with meat inside in a stew. There’s plenty of ways to make this as some people use rice to make the “ball”, while others use cousous and there’s red stew and there’s white. Everyone has their own version. I’m extremely biased so I’m gonna say that my mums kifta is the best. :-)

Last but certainly not least is yaprax/dolma. The name is a constant discussion amongst Kurds as some use the Turkish name dolma and others use the Arabic word yaprax. There is no Kurdish word for this. My family uses yaprax.

Yaprax is a rice mix which is packed into tomatoes, squash, onion, grape leaves and other vegetables you like. They are stacked in a huge casserole (or a small one if you’re making less) with chicken and lamb meat and put on low heat for a couple of hours. When done, you put a huge plate that’s bigger than the casserole on top of it like a lid, turn the casserole upside down and lift it. The yaprax should fall down gorgeously and form a small mountain. *dreams*

Again, my mum has cooked these 3 dishes and not me. I can’t wait to show you mine when I get my courage up enough to try them. :-)

Major nom!

 

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

10 responses »

  1. Oh, these three dishes are so good! I want to have them all! Waiting for you to try and upload the recipes!
    Besides, for more interesting recipes, check at:
    http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes
    Hope you find recipes that you like!

    Reply
  2. I’ll definitely try them soon. :-)

    I did find a recipe on your site called Cheese, Onion and Mushroom Flan that I’m looking into trying soon. Thanks!

    Reply
  3. Recipe Chefs

    I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

    The Most Delicious Baked Cod Recipe

    Reply
  4. i had it once love it….can you give me the ingridients that you used i would like to cooke it myself but i dont know the ingridients i need….thank you…..

    Reply
  5. yaprax….the ingridients is for the yaprax with the meat….:)

    Reply
  6. OMG the paklawa look soo good what is the recipe haha please tell me thanks and the LNKitchen.com is not my website sorry haha

    Reply
  7. okayy can some give me the recipe plzz thanks love kelfkvbfj haha ♥

    Reply
  8. Thank you so much for these recipes please continue posting more and more xx

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

