RSS Feed

Make Up Store – Britta

Posted on

Holography (from the Greek ὅλος hólos, “whole” + γραφή grafē, “writing, drawing”) is a technique that allows the light scattered from an object to be recorded and later reconstructed so that when an imaging system (a camera or an eye) is placed in the reconstructed beam, an image of the object will be seen even when the object is no longer present. The image changes as the position and orientation of the viewing system changes in exactly the same way as if the object were still present, thus making the image appear three-dimensional.


I’m very impressionable and since there has been so much talk lately about holo nailpolishes, I of course had to go get my own. My mission yesterday wasn’t exactly to go buy this polish, but since I walked past Make Up Store I thought I could pop in and see if they had any, which they obviously did.


When I first started putting this on I got really impressed. I have never had a polish that goes on so smoothly. It was extremely easy to apply and there wasn’t really any need for cleaning up edges. It also dried quickly so I didn’t have to wait long before each layer.

What I did see though was that I was getting blotchy areas even though the coats were all even. Each nail had one spot that just wouldn’t patch up. I put on three coats and they were still there so I got a bit grumpy and left it.

When I woke up this morning, I couldn’t shake the disappointment and annoyance at these blotchy areas which I had never seen on swatches on other sites. I decided to put on a 4th coat and voila, they vanished.

What kind of still sucks with this polish is the amount of holo. The images you see above are shot with window light from one side and almost complete darkness on the other, and the contrast is making the holo show. It’s really not that strong at all. Just look at the images of the color in normal indoors light (still just window).


As I’m writing this, I can just about see some shimmer in it, and that’s it. You would never guess it’s a holo polish at all tbh. It just looks like a pale pink polish with some glitter in it.

I bet this polish will be awesome for sunny days so I’m just going to put it away for another couple of months before trying it again. :)

Edit:  It has been a couple of months since this post (on the date, actually! Spooky! ) and today was a really sunny day so I reached for this polish. The shot under is taken with an iPhone. Look at the sparkle! It was crazy!

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Make Up Store polishes | The awesome things I do.

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

