RSS Feed

Sweet potato mash

Posted on

sweet potato
–noun
1.a plant, Ipomoea batatas,  of the morning glory family, grown for its sweet, edible, tuberous roots.

Sorry for being so slow with lately. I have such ups and downs with my cooking. I can go a couple of weeks where I HAVE to try new things and I spend hour looking up recipes. Then comes a week or two where cooking is the last thing on my mind and I really don’t want to do it and I end up having really simple/boring food. I’m been there for a little while now, but I feel like I’m sort of getting interested again.

Sweet potato is slowly starting to get recognized here in Norway. I first go to try it a couple of years ago and it took me a few tries to get used to the taste of it. It’s the same consistency as potato, but it’s sweet. Really, it’s actually sweet. It’s much more healthy than potato so go ahead and try it!

Start with a sweet potato mash.

Grab a couple of sweet potatoes (the ones in the picture are huge and made enough for 4 people).
Chop them up into suitable pieces and toss them into cold water. Remember that with root vegetables you have to boil them up with the water and not put them in after the water has started to boil like with other vegetables.

After it’s super soft you drain the water and start mashing. Add butter, milk, salt, pepper and nutmeg. Don’t be too heavy on the milk at first so you don’t make it too wet, add as you go.  Same with the spices. Keep tasting everything you make!

Healthy yum! :)

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

2 responses »

  1. I LOVE sweet potatoes! Seriously, one of my favorite foods. Here are two of my favorite ways to eat them: 1. Wrap in foil and bake in the oven until they are soft. Take out of the oven and mix in butter, cinnamon and sugar. YUM and super easy! 2. Make them into french fries (do you guys call them chips? I don’t know). Peel and chop the potato into long fries. Coat lightly in olive oil and place on baking sheet. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and bake in the oven. Turn them every 10-15 min so they don’t burn (burned sweet potatoe=not yummy!) Take them out when they are tender on the inside and crispy on the outside. Eat them like that or make a yummy sauce to dip them in. My favorite is a chipole sauce. Just mix together these ingredients:
    1/2 cup greek yogurt
    1 chipotle pepper diced
    1 tablespoon adobo sauce (do you have this?)
    1/2 teaspoon cumin

    MMMmmmm might have to have some sweet potatoe fries tonight! Enjoy your new found root!

    Reply
    • Oh, that first type sounds really interesting! Sugar and cinnamon? Wow. I’m definitely trying that.

      I’ve tried making sweet potato fries but they never get crispy so I don’t like it too much. They’re always super mushy. How do you get them crispy? Maybe I just need to bake them longer.

      Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

