RSS Feed

Brinji sor – red rice

Posted on

Brinji sor was always one of the favorites in the house. As soon as mum started making it, we would start drooling. So I’ve been trying to make my own and guess what? I did! :)

But, I failed first. Well, didn’t fail exactly, but it wasn’t what I wanted. Here’s how I did it the first “failed” time.

I made rice like I talked about here,  but instead of just adding oil in the end, you add both onion and tomato puré to the mix and mix that in with the rice.

The bad part about this is that you don’t really get to taste it properly as the puré isn’t mixed in with water and the flavor is so strong. But the good part is that you know your rice is perfectly cooked.

So, since this way failed, I knew I had to go ahead and make rice “the hard way”. I think it’s the hard way, but most kurds seem to think that the way I make it is the hard way. Very strange.

Any-who, the hard way is matching up your rice with the perfect amount of water. Too much water and your rice will go soggy, too little water and your rice will be undercooked. I used exactly the amount as the top picture shows as you’re suppose to use 1,7 times as much as your rice amount.

So, I chopped up half an onion and used a big spoon of tomato puré in it.

I fried those together for a little bit before adding the water and salted. Now, here is when you start tasting. Does it have enough salt? Do you need more tomato puré? I decided to use half a spoon more of tomato puré than what you see in the picture.

You wait until the water starts boiling (your heat has been on maximum so far), add the rice and turn the heat down to medium or so.

Mix it around, lid it and pray it’s going to turn out good; it’s out of our hands now.

After 15 minutes, I went and stirred it all around a little bit and turned the heat down a little more. 10 minutes after that again, I  crossed my fingers and hoped it was awesome.

It was and it was much easier than I expected. The rice turned out just perfect. :D

Nom!

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

7 responses »

  1. Interesting! I think I am going to try this. It will give a new look to my rice :)

    Reply
  2. Oh my god I’m Kurdish and its my first time cool,Inge I had no idea how to make it myself, but thank you so much your pictures were helpful and your instructions were so clear. Couldn’t have done it without your help xxx

    Reply
  3. Pingback: PRINJI SOR (PUNANE RIIS) | Kurdi Köök

  4. Pingback: Prinji sor (Punane riis) | Islam

  5. Yum this is my husbands favorite Kurdish rice. He is Kurdish, I’m not. So, his mom has been teaching me for the last 11 years how to cook their food, which I absolutely LOVE! When she cooks I can’t help but eat until I’m literally miserable! I showed him your recipes and it was like a kid in a candy store! He just about screamed when he saw the recipe for brinji sor haha

    Reply
  6. It will be much tastier if you add pomegranate syrup in it after you’ve added the water. Don’t be afraid of the amount you put in, I usually pour about 2-3 table spoons (but it depends on the amount of rice you’re cooking too). It gives an extra savory taste. Try it! You won’t regret it :)

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

