RSS Feed

Piazaw – onion soup

Posted on

on·ion [uhn-yuhn]
–noun
1.a plant, Allium cepa,  of the amaryllis family, having anedible, succulent, pungent bulb.

Hey guys.

I have one of the easiest soups to make today. Gorgeous red soup made with only onions to have and enjoy with rice.

Here’s what I used for two people:

1,5 onions
2 cloves of garlic
5 tbls tomato puré
1,5 teaspoons of salt
juice from half a lime or 1 dried lemon
little oil for frying the onions

I’ve actually started using the correct tablespoon/teaspoon measuring tool now so it’s easier to read the ingredients.

So, toss some oil in a casserole and fry the onions and the garlic a bit. You don’t want them all brown and caramelized, but you want them a tad softer. Get all of the tomato puré in and let that sizzle a little bit before adding all of the water. Now you salt and squeeze in the lime. If you have a dried lemon, then you can use one of those instead of the lime which is the norm, but half a fresh lime also does it. :-)

I had it on medium heat for 15 minutes without lid before putting it on very low heat with lid the last 10 while making the rice.

Piazaw (piaz means onion) was one of those dishes I never really appreciated and didn’t care for much even tho I ate it like everything else. Now that I only eat what ever Kurdish I can make myself, I see how much I’ve actually missed and loved it. It’s the favorite in the house so far!

Enjoy <3

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

4 responses »

  1. nashmen1@hotmail.com

    omg i have never heard og onion soup,,, but it look nice mmmm

    Reply
  2. Pingback: PÎAZAW (SIBULA SUPP) | Kurdi Köök

  3. Pingback: Pîazaw (Sibula supp) | Islam

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

