RSS Feed

The banner on the right side.

Posted on

Hey.

I just put a banner up on the blog on the right side. I called it “Easy way to save lives”, which it is. Klash is the traditional Kurdish shoe which of course are the coolest shoes in the world. They are normally only for men, but they have a girly version now!

Image taken from their site:

Coolest shoes ever.

They are sold by a non profit org. called Preemptive Love Coalition in order to help sick children in Iraq and Kurdistan get well the heart surgeries they need.

A quick copy & paste from their site:

“In July 2007, Jeremy & Jessica Courtney and Cody Fisher came face-to-face with the overwhelming reality of thousands of children waiting in line for life-saving heart surgery. With a background in grant-writing and fundraising, the trio knew that they did not want to start a traditional non-profit. They determined to make the markets bend in favor of the outcast, underdog children of Iraq.

The Courtneys and Fisher launched Buy Shoes. Save Lives. to generate critical funding through a creative blending of commerce and compassion. They loved the traditional handmade Kurdish shoes and they suspected that others around the world might like them as well—especially when the purchase of every pair of Klash would help fund a life-saving heart surgery for an Iraqi child.

As this movement gained momentum, more staff was added and the Preemptive Love Coalition was officially incorporated in February 2008, immediately multiplying the means through which people could come together to save lives.

Through our Remedy Missions – international surgical missions we bring into Iraq to provide immediate surgeries and long-term training of Iraqi healthcare professionals – we train Iraqi doctors and nurses toward long-term self-sufficiency so they can serve their people without the help of outsiders. We don’t know what the future holds, but it looks extremely hopeful for thousands of Iraqi children with a Klash-wearing coalition like you on their side. “

Click the banner to go on their website and check out their products. You can also find them on Facebook and Twitter.

I just bought myself shoes and the serenity gift basket. I really just did it to get the basket :-) Tiny picture, but it looks really cool, and it’s handmade! Just think of the journey that basket will have.

I feel so good about it! I’m going to research it more and hopefully I can help somehow. There has always been a huge part of me that has wanted to get into working in charity and helping people, but I’ve never known what. And I don’t want to just give money – I want to actually be there and do things. Maybe my photography can help somehow? We’ll see – this is a step in the right direction at least.

Gogo, buy yourself some awesome shoes! You probably spend more money on bull in a week so spend it on helping someone this week instead.

<3

(And no, I have in no way been asked to write this entry – I’m doing it because I find their work to be fantastic and I want to help them as much as I can.)

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

4 responses »

  1. NO WAY! This is the non-profit I worked for while living in Iraq! The organization is simply amazing. Not only do they provide heart surgeries to kids disparately needing them, they also are bringing in surgeons to train Iraqi doctors! If you have any questions, please ask me! Working for this non-profit and living 6 months in Iraq has literally changed who I am!

    Reply
  2. Haha, that’s awesome! I found out about them not too long ago and I just felt like I had to do something to help. I can’t wait to get my shoes and my basket. The fact that they send thank-you emails after a purchase which is actually personal and not a generic email is pretty awesome. It makes you feel like they really do care and it simply wants you to do more. Hopefully I’ll have the same type of experience as you some day :-)

    Reply
  3. I’m interning with PLC right now and just bought my Ballet Klash. I love them! (I also bought my mother the Serenity basket for Mother’s Day.) :-)

    I’m so excited to be able to go back to the States and make Kurdish food for all my friends! Thanks so much for posting the recipes!

    Reply
    • Is the basket as charming as it looks? I’m really looking forward to getting everything. I ordered it almost 3 weeks ago so it’s getting closer! :)

      And no problem with the recipes, glad I can help! Do let me know what you think when you try it. :-)

      Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

