RSS Feed

Tapsi with meat – my way.

Posted on


I’ve been so bad at making new foods lately, but I felt a rush of energy today so I thought I’d try making tapsi. With a little inspiration from Haje’s version, the version in my little book and a ton of imagination, I ended up making my own version. I really wanted it to be healthier and not as oily as I usually experience tapsi elsewhere. My body has gotten used to healthier foods so when I get several mouthfuls of oil; it doesn’t react too well.

Here’s what I used for two people:

400g minced meat
1,5 yellow onion
1 aubergine
2 cloves garlic
1 celery stick
1 red chili
1 green bell pepper
2 small tomatoes
tomato puré
water

Herbs and spices: garam masala, turmeric, curry, chili, black pepper, salt, jeera, ground cumin and dried coriander leaves.

I chopped up half an onion along with garlic cloves, the chili and the celery stick. I fried them alone for a little bit until they got some color and then tossed the meat in. I sprinkled that with some salt first before I added  1 ts garam masala and 1 ts ground cumin.

So, here’s my twist to this dish. I cut up the aubergine, bell pepper, onion (in circles) and the tomatoes, but I didn’t fry them at all; I just layered it them way you’re suppose to on top of the meat. Fresh and nice.


Before I put the tomatoes on (they only got a light sprinkle of salt and black pepper), I made a little sauce that I spread across (as you can see in the bottom there). I grabbed two full tbsp of tomato purée and poured  4 dl of boiling hot water over in a bowl. I then spiced that with all the herbs and spices you see listed at the top except the jeera. I don’t have the amount as it’s really up to each person to decide what they like.

I tossed it into the oven that was pre-heated to 200 C for as long as it took to make the rice so around 20 minutes.


As you can see, there was much more fluids in mine compared to Haje’s. I don’t really think they can be compared at all to be honest. They are way too different. With her dish, all the components were mushy as they had been fried before being put in the oven, whilst my vegetables were crunchy and you had like 5 different textures in your mouth at once. It was like a little party! They suit different occasions in my eyes.

This was also much much less time consuming. I think from the second I started to me sitting down and eating, it took around 40 minutes. So not bad at all!

I’m really really happy with how it turned out. It was sooooooooo good! What I wish I had done beforehand tho was either bake the aubergine a bit on its own or cut thinner slices. But no matter, I loved it. We haven’t had that much to eat in a long time so this is definitely being made again. The meat made a world of difference as well.  And I’ve never had tapsi that hasn’t been greasy, so this was a very nice change. I actually think this might be my favorite self-made Kurdish dish so far. :-)

Nom!

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

