RSS Feed

Bananabread (it’s really a cake..)

Posted on

There was a fruit buffet at my brothers wedding a few days ago and there was just tons of fruit left afterwards. My mum of course dumped loads of it onto me and I ended up with tons of bananas and apples.

What to do with bananas? Make bananabread! I had never made it or tasted it before today so I was excited. I googled for a second and ended up with Martha Stewart at first. Then I couldn’t be bothered turning the measurements over to metric, so I went to allrecipes.com (where you can flip between US and metric) and found Jane’s Rich Banana Bread recipe there, which apparently is the same as Martha’s.

Anyway, here’s the recipe:

  • 115 g butter, melted
  • 200 g white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 5 ml vanilla extract
  • 190 g all-purpose flour
  • 5 g baking soda
  • 3 g salt
  • 115 g sour cream
  • 60 g chopped walnuts (I skipped these as and added chocolate chips)
  • 2 medium bananas, sliced (I mashed mine)

So.. I melted the butter and added the sugar.

You’re suppose to whip that until it gets white and creamy (according to Martha, not Jane), but I did this by hand instead of using the machine so that was out of the question. :p

After mixing that together, you add the vanilla and egg. I used my own home-made vanilla extract!


Whip that up real good and start adding the dry, which is flour, salt and baking soda. I added half first and then the other half. It got real firm!



You’re just about done. Did you by the way remember to set your oven to 175C? Ops, I forgot to say that, didn’t I? :/ Do it now!

Fold in the sour cream, bananas and nuts (or chocolate. Or both.).

So, your mix is done. This is suppose to be in a 9x5x3 inch bread pan. I don’t have that and I didn’t want to go buy one. What I did have to was a 10×2 inch round cake pan which apparently is almost the same thing, so I decided to use that instead. Butter it up before you put your mix in.

Now you toss it in the middle of the oven for 1 hour. Check the middle with a knife or so to make sure it’s done.

I had to run off to the gym just as this was finished. It had to cool off anyway, but I was so excited when I got home. I grabbed a huge slice and took the biggest bite. It was so moist and nice! It was a very special taste, but I got used to it fast.

The fact that it was so low and had chocolate in it made it a cake. Had it been higher and with only nuts, then it would have been a bread.

Only bad thing is.. I still have like 15 bananas left. What to do with them? :/

About Sophie

I'm a happy go lucky girl without the ability to relax. I love everything colorful and creative! Send me an email on myawesomebeauty@gmail.com if you feel the need to contact me. :-)

One response »

  1. Looks really good :)

    Reply

I'd love to hear from you! Write me something below :-)

